Posted by: lyriclemon | January 18, 2011

What does your manuscript sound like?

Last month I was asked to talk about Writers’ Voice to a fellow writer and blogger, Natasha Hanova, and I’m so glad I agreed to be interviewed, because her questions made me really think about how writers infuse their manuscripts not only with their own Voices, but with the many diverse Voices of their characters, as well. No wonder so many of us are thought of as a bit “odd” or eccentric–we have to carry all those Voices (aka Multiple Personalities!) around in our heads.

Here’s the interview: http://writesbymoonlight.wordpress.com/2011/01/18/chat-with-nancy-pistorius-what-does-your-manuscript-sound-like/

If you are a fiction writer, how do YOU juggle all those Voices competing for your time and energy? How do you know when it’s time to let some of them speak for themselves?

Responses

  1. Sounds like you have your computer back? We are all Praying for your mom!

    • Thanks so much!

  2. Neat question, Nancy. On my “first” (as in publishable) novel, I knew I had the voices of two characters down because they would say things that surprised and moved me. They were talking, not me. It took a lot longer for that to happen with everyone else and hasn’t happened at all on the current ms. I think that’s one reason the current ms is taking so flippin long. LOL

  3. I actually use Stanislavski’s acting method, as I learned it in college theater classes. I become the voice of the person I am writing, as much so as possible anyway.


Leave a Reply

Categories

